Latest News

Liberty Wines adds Chambers Rosewood Rutherglen Muscat to the portfolio

19th November, 2014

Liberty Wines adds Chambers Rosewood Rutherglen Muscat to the portfolio

The latest addition to our premium Australia portfolio - our first Rutherglen Muscat from venerable winery Chambers Rosewood - is now in stock.

The Chambers family have a winemaking heritage in Rutherglen that stretches back to 1858, with sixth generation Stephen Chambers taking over the reins from his father Bill in 2001. Their 50 hectares of vines (some of which are over 100 years old) lie on the north-west fringe of the Rutherglen township, mostly within one kilometre of the winery, on the westward facing slopes of a low range of hills. Here, the rainfall is lower and the soils are lighter than in the north-east of the area, resulting in a drier (both in total sugar content and finish) and more elegant style of wine, with distinctive perfumes of rose petals, dried fruit and raisins, lower extract levels and an attractive pale tawny red colour.

David Gleave MW, managing director of Liberty Wines, says: “We have been seeking a Muscat from Rutherglen – the southern hemisphere’s outstanding fortified wine producing area – to strengthen our offering to customers and are delighted to be joining forces with Chambers Rosewood, one of the best exponents of this classic Australian wine style. The ‘sense of place’ that Chambers achieve in their Rutherglen Muscat is impressive, with the unique characteristics of their site and careful handling in the winery reflected in the lovely balance and aromatic profile of the wine.”

The Chambers Rosewood Rutherglen Muscat NV (19% abv) is made from the darker skinned Muscat à Petits Grains Rouge variety. Fermentation takes place in closed stainless steel tanks to preserve the grapes’ perfumes and stopped when the potential alcohol reaches 14.5-15.5 Baumé by adding neutral grape spirit. The wines are then transferred to old oak casks (from 10-100 years old and from 225-5,000 litres in size) and matured as single vintage and vineyard blocks until required for blending. The resulting blend has an average age of four years, which has increased over recent years as new vineyards come into production.