Our Journal

Summer Wines at Andersons Food Hall & Café

23rd May, 2013

Summer Wines at Andersons Food Hall & Café

Gerry presented a selection of wines on the theme of summer drinking to a full house yesterday at Andersons in Glasnevin, Dublin. The wines were matched with a multitude of small, tasting size dishes off the barbecue.

We kicked off with our new ‘Rialto’ Moscato from Cantina Colli Euganei. This is a lovely, slightly frothy, slightly sweet, 5% alcohol wine that works beautifully as an aperitif.

The whites we showed were the Amalaya White 2012 from Argentina; the Ca dei Frati Lugana ‘I Frati’ 2012 from Lombardia and the Greywacke Sauvignon Blanc 2012 from Marlborough.  They were served with dishes featuring marinated king prawns, grilled salmon, stuffed Portobello mushroom and barbecued halloumi & aubergine.

Our rosé was the Vignes de L’Eglise Syrah Rosé 2011, which showed lovely notes of red berries and a nice freshness.

The reds were Allegrini Valpolicella 2011, Delta Marlborough Pinot Noir 2010 and Vigna Marina Coppi Barbera Sant’Andrea 2010. All three were very different and all well suited to summer dining. They were matched with pork and chicken dishes, as well as a mini beefburger and lamb meatballs.

We’d like to thank Noel Delany and all his team at Andersons for hosting the event.